We Cast a Shadow | Author Maurice Carlos Ruffin

A bold, provocative debut for fans of Get Out and Paul Beatty's The Sellout , about a father who will do anything to protect his son--even if it means turning him white. How far would you go to protect your child?Our narrator faces an impossible decision. Like any father, he just wants the best for his son Nigel, a biracial boy whose black birthmark is growing larger by the day. In this near-future society plagued by resurgent racism, segregation, and expanding private prisons, our narrator knows Nigel might not survive. Having watched the world take away his own . . .

Read Now For Free!

Click to enlarge

×

Our library can be accessed from certain countries only, Please see if you are eligible to read or download by creating an account!

First 30 days free if you register now!

FREE & UNLIMITED BOOKS, AUDIOBOOKS, MAGAZINES AND MORE!

Check out what you can do with this service!


Enjoy your content the way it was meant to be experienced: without interruptions, without ads!

New titles added every day! We like to keep things fresh!

More than 10 million titles spanning every genre imaginable, at your fingertips!

Unlimited Books, AudioBooks, Magazines and more wherever you are: directly in your browser on your PC or tablet.!

We new Friends!